Guard Terminology

Guest Cap-10

God knows that I don't know my arse from my elbow when it comes to the inner workings of the Guard/Reserve hiring/pay, etc. I was at the altitude chamber up at Langly today and made contact with someone from a certain guard unit that I might be interested in flying for some day.

Back to my arse from my elbow: could someone please give me a general summary/difference between full time/AGR/traditional/technician, etc. Things in particular: pay/benefits (bonus?), which one are more conducive to flying for an airline. What the hell is a UTE(sp) day? Also I know that 1 year of guard time doesn't equal 1 year of AD time when it comes down to retirements, so if someone could explain how they figure out that you've reached your "20" years for retirement.

Hoser

[ 18. January 2006, 19:29: Message edited by: Hoser ]

I'll try dude considering I'm a technician in the Mass Air Guard (Armament Systems). In regards to full time/traditional or AGR/technician. Full time means that is your full time job and you are either an AGR (active guard reserve) or a technician (wg-10, ws-09, gs-12...theres different wage classes for different jobs). AGR is in essence full time employee at a national guard/reserve base that is paid just like an active duty member. A technician is a federal employee that is paid hourly. A "traditional" is a member of the national guard that does their one weekend a month/two weeks a year deal and either goes to school full time or works full time.